November 6, 2012

  • Music sings to my soul!

    Ever been driving down the road listening to the radio and a song comes on that you try to sing along to but, you get all choked up? Big tears well up in your eyes and try to fight them and sing but, you can’t do either.

    Well I was driving down the road listening to the christian music station here in Dallas, KLTY. The DJ started Nicole Nordeman’s song, Brave. She introduced it saying how Nicole lives here in Dallas and how cool would it be if she was listening right now. Also, she added how Brave was the song Nicole wrote for her son. Well Brave is a special song to me. It came out years ago around the time I was understanding my identity in Christ and how trusting and leaning on Him was making me want to be Brave.

    But, funny enough, I woke up this morning with a Nicole Nordeman song on my mind.(I think that’s what brought the tears on.) Her song, What If, it’s on the Brave album. That song was on my mind because I was thinking about my friends who don’t have a relationship with Christ. And because she was on my mind, I decide I was going to talk about how I’m thankful for music on facebook today.  I love her lyrics and I’m trying to mention things I’m thankful for this month on facebook. But, I’m thinking maybe it should be a daily thing to do all year round. Cultivating a thankful heart can’t be a bad thing.

    Since I have come this far, why don’t I just say here that I am thankful for music. I love music.I love song lyrics. They are poetry in motion. My dad use to play a game with me when I was little, Name that Tune or Name That Artist, or both. My dad introduced me to a variety of music when I was young. I can remember being five years old and listening to Billy Joel while I was trying to sleep. Dad introduced me to The Beatles, Led Zepplin, The Carpenters, Grand Funk Railroad, The Eagles, Chicago, Elton John, Steve Perry, The Doobie Brothers, The Beach Boys, The Doors, Kenny Rogers, Randy Travis, George Strait, The Judds, Neil Young, Conway Twitty, Boston, Whitney Houston, John Denver(my favorite at Christmas time), James Taylor,Rich Mullins, Fleetwood Mac, Michael Jackson, CCR and so many others. But most times when I hear a song from one of the singers listed, I think of my dad. I use to get so excited and feel so smart knowing the answers.

     I’m thankful for the music of TobyMac, Amy Grant, DC Talk, Rich Mullins, 4Him, Nichole Nordeman, John Denver, Journey(Steve Perry lead), The Beatles(the younger years), Randy Travis, Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, Laura Story, Carrie Underwood, Whitney Houston, Three Days Grace ,U2, Kelly Clarkson, Steven Curtis Chapman, and so many many more. I love hymns too. Music has been a part of me, all my life. Different songs have helped me through different times in my life. Music can be your best friend on a bad day. Music helps you clean the house! Music sings to my SOUL. 

    Peace, love, Jesus, and music,

    helmschick –out

     

Comments (3)

  • I agree. I feel the same way about music. I have a very eclectic taste in music myself and I have lots of memories associated with particular songs and songs that helped me feel my way through life events.

    I got all choked up on the way somewhere the other day because the song Untitled Hymn by Chris Rice came on. I think any other time I would probably have thought, eh, it’s okay, but in that moment it just got me, you know? ha.

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - I like Chris Rice too. I had his Deep Enough to Dream CD. Clumsy is one of my favs of his. It’s hard to name every artist that has ever impacted you. But yes I know and yes I think depending on what is going on in life at that moment depends on what might getcha.

  • yes there are many songs that brings tears to my eyes and most of the ones you mentioned are also in my memories and I still love them, along with Joplin, Hendrix and the early 60′s rockers.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *