November 9, 2012

  • UNsweet Tea and NO Tow-Mate-ers

    I have a terrible headache among other things. I had a fierce case of the hives last night and it has spilled over to this morning. It is almost 10:00 a.m. and I still have hives. I even took an Atarax at midnight, because the hives had only progressed and the itching was keeping me awake. Hives are a beast. I didn’t think about A.1 sauce having tomatoes in it until I was eating it on my burger.

    Today I start my 60 day adventure. It’s called 60 days of NO Tow-Mate-ers. That’s right 60 days of no pasta with red sauce. No pizza with red sauce. No A1 sauce or Worcestershire. No barbecue sauce, NO Ketchup, and NO Salsa. My chiropractor said I may be able to reset my allergy to tomatoes by staying completely off them for 60 days. He also told me to avoid strawberries. It’s going to be a little annoying to cut tomatoes completely out, but if it works then it is worth it.

    I try not to gripe or be grumpy about a lot of things. But, once a month I inevitably get grumpier than normal. I am woman. I am allowed. As long as I don’t make others suffer with me, it’s all good. So, much like yesterday, I again feel like my lunchtime iced tea, UN-sweet. Really overall these are just little bumps in the road. Life has been a bit bumpier than normal around here and it’s got me frustrated. I’m going to keep persevering, cultivating my grateful thankful heart. As they say and as I have said, this too shall pass. It’s JUST for now. God has and is supplying all our needs. I need to make sure I focus on the needs and less on the wants. My trust is in Jesus. No fear. No stress. Take some deep breaths.Everything is falling into place.

    I am unsweet like my tea,
    So for your own good
    let me be
    I’m cranky and I know it…
    And I will get through it and over it.

    It has been a rough couple of weeks
    But soon we’ll be out of the valley
    And onto the mountain peaks
    Where the sun shines brightly
    Warming the soul
    Preparing it for more
    Come Sun or Storm

    For no matter where we linger
    Father you are the bringer of good, hope, and love
    You make life sweeter.
    Even when I am meaner
    And because of Your love,
    I won’t stay unsweet for long.

    Peace, love, music, and Jesus,

    helmschick –out

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *