Month: October 2012

  • Remember What?

    “The saddest thing about life is you don’t remember half of it. You don’t even remember half of the half of it.”
    “I have this friend Bob who writes down everything he remembers........ He said he captures memories, because if he forgets them, it’s as though they didn't happen; it’s as though he hadn't lived the parts he doesn't remember.”

    -Donald Miller, A Million Miles In A Thousand Years

    It is so true how easily we forget some memories. I can easily remember the day I got married, the day my children were born, the storms in my life, and the day my PapPap died. I can read some books and quote them and others I have difficulty remembering: other than if I enjoyed them or not. I love to write. I use to journal a lot more of my life. In the difficult times I have journal-ed more. I need to make sure that I document all the good times too.

    Which reminds me, today my daughter and I were walking to school and she said,”Mama I’m Coldielocks, get it?” I said, “Yes I get it,” and giggled. (It was pretty stinking cold out)

    A few weeks back, maybe even a month ago, while my grandma was staying with us, my son really cracked me up. He had just taken a shower and walked past grandma and me in the living room, to put up his dirty clothes. I said, “Wow you smell good. You smell like your dad. Did you use his bath wash?  You better watch it, you might have girls chasing you on the playground.” My sons reply, “It only lasts eight hours.” My grandma and I started laughing and I remembered that on the bottle of body wash it reads, Old Spice Swagger 8 Hours. (He had done the math. I’m sure his teacher would be proud.)

    Maybe we should all take the time to write down something good about everyday or sweet and silly things that happen to us throughout each week. It would be good reading on a rainy day.

    Peace, love, and Jesus,
    helmschick --out

  • Anxious for Nothing... ahem...

    Be anxious for nothing.shocked Be anxious for nothing.stunned Be anxious for nothing.cool

    Almost everything is easier said than done. When you're standing in the storm and the straight line winds are wailing on you, it is tough to be tough. Life is full of storms. Some of them weigh heavier on our hearts. Others weigh heavier on our shoulders. Stress is a dirty word and an awful obnoxious feeling. It causes us to under eat, over eat, loose sleep, and/or loose focus. I do rely on God. I know that no matter how tough the storm is, marriage, family, financial, sickness, or unemployment, it will be weathered with His grace and His mercies. I know that good can and does come out of hopeless and difficult situations. I know that with God nothing has to be hopeless. I know that focusing on Him and not my problems has helped me weather numerous storms. Having a positive attitude is really crucial to perseverance. But, lets be honest here. We are going to have moments where we feel discouraged or momentarily defeated. We are human it is inevitable. I just take a deep breath, maybe have a mild rant, surrender, pray, and trust God. I may have to do it again 5 minutes later, but that's okay. Everyday has the potential for storms, but it's what we do when we see the clouds coming that will define us.

    Peace, love, and Jesus,

    helmschick --out

  • Forgiveness, Family, Made for Me

    “Cause we all make mistakes sometimes, and we all step across that line, but nothings sweeter than the day we find, we find... “ TobyMac, Forgiveness

    “Are we too far apart, two worlds among the stars, You’re gonna take a piece of my heart if you leave, So it’s two separate ways, or am I too late to say, We gotta fight for what we got,cause I believe in family...” TobyMac, Family

    “Cause she was made for me You gave ‘er to me I said I’d hold on loose but I so wanna squeeze you Just right for me and for the life of me can’t believe I get to call her mine”
    TobyMac, Made for me

    Marriage. Family. Love and forgiveness. Themes in my life. Relationships in my life. We all need forgiveness.( for our own healing) We all want to be close to family, but sometimes we have to walk away from hurtful relationships. I believe in family. I believe that in family we should be honest, encourage/speak life, and love and forgive. I believe in marriage. I believe that communication, honesty, love and forgiveness, and encouragement are vital in marriage.I believe that my husband was made for me. I am so grateful. Some days I can’t believe how in sync we are. Some days I think wow how different we are. But, EVERDAY I try to remember just how lucky I am and where God has brought us. I'm telling you Mr. TobyMac's album Eye On It, really is an album after my own heart.

     

    Further explanation....

    For the past eight years of my life, God has been working not only on me, but on my relationships. Marriage. Family. Love. Forgiveness. It is all intertwined. Marriage and family are not easy. They are made up of imperfect people. People with different thinkers. People with different ideas, likes, and dislikes. People with different beliefs. We are all people with free choice and free will. In order for relationships to work we have to be able to own our responsibilities. We have to be able to admit when we are wrong and apologize. We have to be able to reasonably communicate with love and respect, patience, kindness, and logic.

    Forgiveness takes one person. One person willing to let go of the past. One person who wants to be free of bitterness and anger. It never excuses the wrongs done, but it allows us to move on in our life and heal. We can forgive someone and never be in relation with them again.

    Reconciliation takes two. It is the mending of a relationship. It is not excusing the past. It is acknowledging the past, taking responsibility for wrongs and behaviors. It is owning up and apologizing. Being ready to change and grow. It is having a healthy relationship. I've been estranged from some of my family. I know how difficult it can be. I also know that I had to walk away. One day I hope for reconciliation. I have already forgiven.(And forgiveness is a process, but the right path for healing)

    All I can say is love, forgive, make good choices (and when you don't, apologize), take responsibility for your actions,be honest, and be tactful. When you've done your part, owned your part, and others are still unwilling to own theirs, then forgive and move on.  It can be heartbreaking. It can be difficult. But, sometimes all that is left is to accept the things we cannot change and go our separate ways.

    helmschick --out

  • Toby Mac, Eye on It  continued from yesterday.  Here are some of Mr Mac’s songs from the Eye On It album and what they mean to me or how they apply to my life. An album after my own heart. Thank you Mr. Mac for your obedience to God. Your music touches hearts and souls!

     

    Thankful for You

    I love to write. I believe with all my heart it is something God given. My poetry is not the most eloquent. It can be pretty simple and sometimes down right cheesy. My grammar is not the best either.  However when the words start flowing, I obediently grab pen and paper so I won’t miss a thing. I am so thankful for my relationship with Christ. It is the world to me. I feel freer in my life than I have ever been. I am thankful for any and all talent and gifts He has given me. May they always be used for His glory. I’m also thankful for my family and friends. I’m thankful for the encourager's and positive life breathers in my life.  “But I can say without a doubt, I never had it figured out, Lord you’ve opened every door I’ve stepped through, yea..”


    Me Without You

    “Where would I be without you?”  Without God in my life, I wouldn't be the person I am today. With Him anything is possible. Eight years ago I rededicated my life to Christ. I was going through a terrible storm. I was at the end of me and I prayed God, please help me. Then I sought him like never before. I wanted to know what being a Godly woman, wife, and mother, looked like. I wanted to become the woman I was meant to be. Through all my trials and deepest sorrows, God has been with me. He has sustained me, held me, encouraged me, and loved me. I am so grateful. I've wrestled and surrendered. Then repeated. I've questioned. I've gotten mad. I don’t have all the answers, but that's okay. Because without him, “I’d be packing my bags when I need to stay, I’d be chasing every breeze that blows my way, I’d be building my kingdom just to watch it fade away, its true...”

    Lose Myself

    “Your kingdom I desire, I wanna lose myself, lose myself, to find you...” Once again being Christ centered is my number one desire. I want to be sharpened. I want strongholds to be broken. I need truth to set me free. “Create in me a pure heart” (Psalm 51) I want my thoughts, my heart, my mind to be changed for the better.  I want to seek Him with all my heart. I want to know Him more. I want to surrender what comes humanly natural and become more spirit sensitive. I want prayer to be my first instinct. “Take all that was me and shape it to be reflecting you soully...”


     

    Tomorrow I will discuss the songs Made for Me, Family, and Forgiveness.

    helmschick --out