October 3, 2012

  • Forgiveness, Family, Made for Me

    “Cause we all make mistakes sometimes, and we all step across that line, but nothings sweeter than the day we find, we find… “ TobyMac, Forgiveness

    “Are we too far apart, two worlds among the stars, You’re gonna take a piece of my heart if you leave, So it’s two separate ways, or am I too late to say, We gotta fight for what we got,cause I believe in family…” TobyMac, Family

    “Cause she was made for me You gave ‘er to me I said I’d hold on loose but I so wanna squeeze you Just right for me and for the life of me can’t believe I get to call her mine”
    TobyMac, Made for me

    Marriage. Family. Love and forgiveness. Themes in my life. Relationships in my life. We all need forgiveness.( for our own healing) We all want to be close to family, but sometimes we have to walk away from hurtful relationships. I believe in family. I believe that in family we should be honest, encourage/speak life, and love and forgive. I believe in marriage. I believe that communication, honesty, love and forgiveness, and encouragement are vital in marriage.I believe that my husband was made for me. I am so grateful. Some days I can’t believe how in sync we are. Some days I think wow how different we are. But, EVERDAY I try to remember just how lucky I am and where God has brought us. I’m telling you Mr. TobyMac’s album Eye On It, really is an album after my own heart.

     

    Further explanation….

    For the past eight years of my life, God has been working not only on me, but on my relationships. Marriage. Family. Love. Forgiveness. It is all intertwined. Marriage and family are not easy. They are made up of imperfect people. People with different thinkers. People with different ideas, likes, and dislikes. People with different beliefs. We are all people with free choice and free will. In order for relationships to work we have to be able to own our responsibilities. We have to be able to admit when we are wrong and apologize. We have to be able to reasonably communicate with love and respect, patience, kindness, and logic.

    Forgiveness takes one person. One person willing to let go of the past. One person who wants to be free of bitterness and anger. It never excuses the wrongs done, but it allows us to move on in our life and heal. We can forgive someone and never be in relation with them again.

    Reconciliation takes two. It is the mending of a relationship. It is not excusing the past. It is acknowledging the past, taking responsibility for wrongs and behaviors. It is owning up and apologizing. Being ready to change and grow. It is having a healthy relationship. I’ve been estranged from some of my family. I know how difficult it can be. I also know that I had to walk away. One day I hope for reconciliation. I have already forgiven.(And forgiveness is a process, but the right path for healing)

    All I can say is love, forgive, make good choices (and when you don’t, apologize), take responsibility for your actions,be honest, and be tactful. When you’ve done your part, owned your part, and others are still unwilling to own theirs, then forgive and move on.  It can be heartbreaking. It can be difficult. But, sometimes all that is left is to accept the things we cannot change and go our separate ways.

    helmschick –out

Comments (1)

  • Deep thoughts today! I agree, forgiveness takes one person, and reconciliation takes two. Definitely have to walk away sometimes when the relationship can’t go forward. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *